Nov 15, 2012

Principal Leadership Award winner

Fern Creek Elementary School principal Patrick Galatowitsch is one of three principals statewide honored this year with the 2012 Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award. Each year the award is given to education leaders who show increased student achievement, the ability to empower and develop staff members, and a commitment to working with business and community partners to better their schools. Winners earn a $10,000 award.
Galatowitsch leads a school with one of the district’s highest homeless student populations. His commitment to partnerships in the community includes working with Rollins College, the Fern Creek Foundation, and Valencia Community College to name just a few. Since 2005, Fern Creek has been rated “A” by the state Department of Education six times and “B” twice. The 2012 school grade is “B.”
Leonard Miller was the founder of the Council for Educational Change. His belief was that principal leadership is the key to unlocking school improvement. The organization is a statewide, non-profit whose mission is to focus on leadership in addressing student achievement and addressing critical education issues.