Feb 1, 2013

2014 TOY Nominees are...

The field has narrowed to five for Orange County Public Schools 2014 Teacher of the Year. The winner will be announced in an awards ceremony February 28, 2013 at the Rosen Centre from 4 p.m. until 7 p.m. The winner will also be the district’s 2014 Florida Department of Education/Macy’s Teacher of the Year nominee. The finalists are:
Pictured from the top clockwise: Dorina Sackman, Vonda Lupo Britt, Bill Daniel, Polly Beebe, and Mary Carol Thibeau.
Polly Beebe – Little River Elementary School.  Polly Beebe is a pre-k teacher. She has been a teacher in Florida for 26 years. Her colleagues say she sets an example for all to follow and is a great mentor to other teachers. She can be found at every school-wide curriculum day planning with the k-2 teachers, adding advice and gleaning from them what she needs to best prepare the pre-k students for kindergarten. Mrs. Beebe also spends time before and after school helping other teachers design their classroom space and behavior plans for maximum productivity.
Vonda Lupo BrittVista Lakes Elementary School. Vonda Britt is an Exceptional Student Education teacher. She has been teaching in Florida for eight years. She is highly respected by other teachers, administrators, district staff, community partners and parents. She is highly skilled in her area of expertise and serves as a mentor for other teachers and paraprofessionals. Mrs. Britt’s commitment to students with autism is her life’s passion and that is evident every day, with every student.
William Daniel – Boone High School. Bill Daniel is Boone’s Innovative Teacher of the Year and is the said to be the heart and soul of Boone’s Academy of Finance. When Mr. Daniel and his students aren’t busy winning competitions, awards, scholarships, and performing community service, they can be found running the Central Florida Educators Federal Credit Union located on the campus of Boone High School. Mr. Daniel has been teaching for 20 years in Florida.
Dorina Sackman – Westridge Middle School. Dorina Sackman is a teacher for students who are English Language Learners (ELL). Her colleagues say she has the utmost enthusiasm and spends the majority of her teaching career seeking innovative instructional methods for ELLs then shares her findings with her colleagues. She incorporates unique and energetic instructional activities that promote positive student interaction and collaboration. Ms. Sackman is also a mentor and role model for at-risk youth.
Mary Carol Thibeau –Southwest Middle. Mary Carol Thibeau is a math teacher and a National Board Certified Teacher. Her colleagues say she is a valuable member of the leadership team and is always creating rigorous lessons plans for her students. In 2012, she was recognized by the principal after being ranked 7th in the district for raising the lower 25 percent math learning gains, as well as having 100 percent of her 8th grade students pass the End of Course exam. She is also a member of the AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination) Site Team.
The winner will be announced during the OCPS Teacher of the Year Awards Ceremony on February 28, 2013. The winner will be the district’s nominee to be submitted for the 2014 Florida Department of Education/Macy’s Teacher of the Year. The program recognizes and honors the contributions of outstanding classroom teachers who have demonstrated a superior capacity to inspire a love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities.