OCPS celebrates two principal leaders
Posted on 10/01/2020
OCPS News Release logo

Orange County Public Schools celebrates two of its principals for their leadership roles in professional organizations. The additional time and dedication to serving other administrators exemplify their commitment to the profession. 
Seth Daub headshotSeth Daub, Catalina Elementary School principal, is the Florida Association of School Administrators’ president for the 2020-21 school year. FASA supports the professional goals of Florida’s superintendents, principals, assistant principals and district office administrators. 

In his term, Daub will focus on three priorities: growing membership, continuing high-quality professional development, and addressing the cultural diversity issues in our communities. He is the first president of FASA that is an open member of the LGBTQ community and will work to ensure a safe environment for all students and staff.

“Seth is a cheerleader for education and will undoubtedly provide motivation and support for administrators across the state,” said FASA Executive Director Michele White. “He has recruited more members to strengthen the voice of administrators and his contagious enthusiasm will no doubt keep FASA in high regard.”

Daub previously served as president of the Florida Association of Elementary and Middle School Principals and the Orange County Association of School Administrators. Mr. Daub previously received the Orange County Association of Educational Media Distinguished Administrator Award as well as the 2015 Elementary School Administrator of the Year Award from the Orange County School Counseling Association.

Mark Shanoff headshotMark Shanoff, Ed. D., Edgewater High School principal, is the Florida Association of Secondary School Principals’ president for the academic year. The FASSP organizes and unifies the effort to improve the quality of education for the middle and high school students of the State of Florida. 

Recently, Dr. Shanoff authored an article, “Reconsidering Ability Grouping through an Equity Lens,” for the National Association for Secondary School Principals, regarding equity and access.

Dr. Shanoff is the 2019 Florida Principal of the Year and was the 2014 National Distinguished Principal for Florida.  

(For more information, please contact Media Relations at 407.317.3458 or [email protected]