HR receives three national awards of distinction
Posted on 10/18/2018
AASPA Awards and Recipients

OCPS Human Resources was recently recognized with three prestigious national awards presented by the American Association of School Personnel Administrators (AASPA) at its recent national conference held in Minnesota. Chief of Staff Bridget Williams, Director of Labor Relations Leigh Ann Blackmore and Assistant Director Innovation for Recruitment and Retention Bonnie Toffoli, represented OCPS in receiving the awards.

AASPA named Bonnie Toffoli the 2018 HR Specialist/Support Staff given to an individual whose contributions have had significant impact on the efficiency of the human resources office and to the field of human resources.  

AASPA named HR the recipient of the 2018 Digital Branding Award.  This award is given to the school district whose personnel or human resources department has most effectively managed to leverage the power of at least one digital venue to tell their district’s employment story and provide communication to and gather information from current and prospective employees.  This social media presence allows the District to reach a new generation of future teachers and is an integral part in how the District conducts its recruitment and retention responsibilities.

AASPA named HR the recipient of the 2018 William L. Hunter Pont of Light Award.  This award is given in honor of William L. Hunter, who served as a member of the AASPA Executive Board.  The Point of Light award gives recognition to school districts making outstanding contributions through the implementation of innovative and comprehensive teacher development programs primarily focused upon strategies designed to increase the number of teachers of color in school districts.