The Teacher of the Year award recognizes and honors the contributions of outstanding classroom teachers who demonstrate a superior capacity to inspire a love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities. Out of more than 200 instructional personnel representing each school in the district, five finalists are chosen and one person is awarded the distinction of Orange County Public Schools Teacher of the Year. The district’s Teacher of the Year represents Orange County at the state level to compete for Florida Teacher of the Year. 

Congratulations to the 2018-19 TOY Finalists

  • Melissa Pappas | Brookshire Elementary
  • Caela Paioff | Colonial High
  • Kelly Decker | Dream Lake Elementary
  • Amy Swederski | Freedom High
  • Justin MacDonald | Shingle Creek Elementary


Check back soon for more information on each finalist.