Admin

Student Services

Mission Statement

The OCPS Comprehensive Guidance Program is an integral part of the district's total program for students. It is both preventative and proactive in its focus and supports the district goal that each student will acquire the knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary to reach their full potential.

OCPS Comprehensive Guidance Program

My counselor lights the way for me Our purpose as school counselors is to provide a developmental, systematic comprehensive program addressing the academic, career, and interpersonal/social needs of ALL students. In partnership with other educators, parents, and the community, the ultimate goal of the guidance program is to ensure that ALL students in OCPS acquire the knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary to become effective students, responsible citizens, productive workers, and lifelong learners.

Guiding Principles of the OCPS Comprehensive Guidance Program:

  • Reach ALL students
  • Comprehensive in scope
  • Preventative in design
  • Developmental in nature
  • An integral part of a total educational program for student success
  • Includes school guidance curriculum, individual planning, responsive services and system support
  • Implemented by a credentialed school counselor
  • Measure student competencies in the areas of academic, career and interpersonal/social development
  • Data-driven programatic decision-making
  • Monitor student progress
  • Identify opportunities for improvement each year based on results data
  • Share successes of the program with stakeholders

OCPS' Anti-Bullying Hotline

Online, Call, or App. Use SpeakOut Hotline to Anonymously Report Threatening Behavior. 800-423-TIPS(8477) or www.speakouthotline.org

OCPS' Bullying Prevention Campaign

Image of the Act4Change logo

Contact Information

Mary Bridges
Senior Director
(407) 317-3200 Ext. 2003439
Mary.Bridges@ocps.net

Cathy Murdock
Administrative Secretary
(407) 317-3200 Ext. 2003394
Cathy.Murdock@ocps.net

Marlene West
Director
(407) 317-3200 Ext. 2002380
Marlene.West@ocps.net

Erin Vacchio
Senior Administrator, HS
(407) 317-3200 Ext. 2002136
Erin.Vacchio@ocps.net

Karla Owens
Senior Administrator, K-8
(407) 317-3200 Ext. 2002386
Karla.Owens@ocps.net

Zachary Swedeen
Application Specialist
(407) 317-3200 Ext. 2002615
Zachary.Swedeen@ocps.net

Cheryl Spence
Instructional Coach, Credit Recovery
(407) 317-3200 Ext. 2002307
Cheryl.Spence@ocps.net

Erica Collins
District Lead Elementary Counselor
(407) 317-3200 Ext. 2002637
Erica.Collins@ocps.net

Jacqueline Donaldson-Francois
District Lead Middle School Counselor
(407) 317-3200 Ext. 2002878
Jacqueline.Donaldson-Francois@ocps.net

Carol Bickel
District Lead High School Counselor
(407) 317-3200 Ext. 2002631
Carol.Bickel@ocps.net

Tammy Speed-Hefner
District Student Support Coordinator
(407) 317-3200 Ext. 2002744
Tammy.Speed-Hefner@ocps.net

Student Services
445 W. Amelia St. Orlando, FL 32801 407.317.3394