The Advanced Placement Program, administered by The College Board and taught in high schools, allows students to participate in a college-level course of study, and to show mastery in college-level courses through an end-of-course exam. All courses are taught as part of the normal curriculum by Boone faculty and can lead to earning college credit while still in high school. Secondary schools and most major colleges cooperate in this program.
 
This growing program is an outstanding opportunity for qualified students to get a head start on college skills in a controlled classroom environment. Research shows that students completing one AP course are 40% more likely to graduate from college in four years. Taking two courses increases that probability to 60%!  
 
Students at Boone High School have the opportunity to participate in the following AP courses:

American Government

Sydney.Olson2@ocps.net

Cassandra.Stilwell@ocps.net

___________________________________________________________________________________________________  

American History                                              (updated 2016-2017)

Christopher.Parrett@ocps.net

AP_Summer_Assignment 16-17.pdfAP_Summer_Assignment 16-17.pdf 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Art History                                                         (updated 2016-2017)

Studio Art
 
 
APArtHistorySyllabus.pdfAPArtHistorySyllabus.pdf   http://smarthistory.org/art-historical-analysis/  Students need to preview this site before class.
 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________  

Biology

Jamie.Bortner@ocps.net

https://www.smore.com/13ejd (AP Bio Syllabus )

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________


Calculus                                                             (updated 2016-2017) 

Dr. Tachon 

Teresa.Tachon@ocps.net

Syllabus AB || BC  

No summer assignment

 _____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Chemistry                                                                    (updated 2016-2017)

Glenn.Listort@ocps.net 

chem ap.pdfChemistry.pdf 

 _____________________________________________________________________________________________________

AP Computer Science Principles                                (updated 2016-2017)

AP Computer Science

James.Mitchell@ocps.net

Complete the Learn to Code Java section on CodeCademy.com. You must create a free account. It should take no longer than 4 hours. This will give you a good introduction into what you will learn in these courses.

If you want to further your knowledge of programming, try the Python course. Although the syntax is different than Java, the course is much more developed.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Economics                                                                       (updated 2016-2017)

William.Daniel@ocps.net

8 Chapter Summer Assignment Packet & Textbook. Contact Mr. Daniel at william.daniel@ocps.net to pick up your materials.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Language & Composition for Rising Juniors                (updated 2016-2017)

Merrideth.Buchanan@ocps.net

Jill.Mollenhauer@ocps.net

AP Khan attachment 2016 2017.pdfAP Khan attachment 2016 2017.pdf

AP Journal Model Their Eyes Were Watching God.pdfAP Journal Model Their Eyes Were Watching God.pdf

AP Summer Reading Directions (12-13).pdfAP Summer Reading Directions

1AP Lang Class Syllabus  Procedures.pdfAP Lang Class Syllabus Procedures.pdf

2AP Literature and the School mam.pdfAP Literature and the School mam.pdf

3AP SHORT GRAMMAR HANDBOOK.pdfAP SHORT GRAMMAR HANDBOOK.pdf

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

English Literature

Jennifer.Hilley@ocps.net

____________________________________________________________________________________________________  

Environmental Science                                                       (updated 2016-2017)

Lisa.Maccarone@ocps.net

AP Environmental  Syllabus 16-17.pdfAP Environmental Syllabus 16-17.pdf

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

European History 

Christina.Baybay-bykov@ocps.net

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Human Geography

Daniel.Tringali@ocps.net

Annette.Montgomery@ocps.net

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Music Theory

Stephen.Cook@ocps.net

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Physics

Michael.Undieme@ocps.net

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Psychology                                                                     (updated 2016-2017) 

John.Hines@ocps.net

 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________
 

Spanish Language and Culture | Spanish Literature and Culture

Edna.Irizarry@ocps.net

AP Span Lit and Culture Summer Irizarry Reflexiones.pdfAP Span Lit and Culture Summer Irizarry Reflexiones.pdf

AP Spn Lit Lazarillo de Tormes Preguntas .pdfAP Spn Lit Lazarillo de Tormes Preguntas .pdf

AP Spn Lang Summer Assignment with Score Sheet TRIANGULO aprobado.pdfAP Spn Lang Summer Assignment with Score Sheet TRIANGULO aprobado.pdf

 _____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Statistics

Joanne.Strickler@ocps.net

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

World History                                                                   (updated 2016-2017) 

Christina.Baybay-bykov@ocps.net 

 
 
 
 ​​​​​​​
​​