Social Studies

 
 

 It is the goal of the Social Studies that all students will acquire the habits of mind needed to become reflective and responsible citizens of our nation and world.

The courses taught are designed to encourage active learning among our students so that the students will:

 
 
  • Understand the significance of the past and its influence on the present.
  • Be mindful of both change and continuity in our lives.
  • Appreciate the challenge and opportunities created by an increasingly interdependent global community.
  • Recognize the personal character traits of people who have made a difference in history.
  • Read various types of information effectively while learning to ask appropriate questions to distinguish fact from conjecture.
  • Research information using a variety of sources and communicate effectively.
 

 Helpful Links

 
 

 Social Studies Family

 

6th Grade

 

  

 

 Carol Everman  (Department Chair)

 

 carol.everman@ocps.net

 

Natalie Eastberg

 

 natalie.eastberg@ocps.net

 


 

7th Grade

 

 Franz Honeygan

franz.honeygan@ocps.net

Jennifer Gomilla
jennifer.gomilla@ocps.net

 

 

8th Grade

 

 Gerald Aldrich

 

 gerald.aldrich@ocps.net

 
 

 Cathy Godboldte-Hazzard(cathy.godboldte-hazzard@ocps.net)