District rewards 36 students for SAT prep
Posted on 03/13/2019
District rewards 36 students for SAT prep

At Tuesday’s board meeting, Harold Border, chief of high schools, recognized 36 students for their work toward improving their SAT score.

According to College Board, students who spend 20 hours on Official SAT Practice see an average gain of 115 points from their PSAT/NMSQT to SAT score.

The students recognized exceeded those expectations, gaining at least 300 points from their 11th grade PSAT score in the fall of their junior year to their 12th grade SAT score in the fall of their senior year.  This point increase is attributed to their practice on OSP, as the students practiced from three to 42 hours.  

The district’s efforts to increase SAT scores, earned OCPS the Proof of Practice MYP Award for the highest percentage of students practicing 20 or more hours.  OCPS had 800 students that practiced at least 20 hours. The Council for the Great City Schools and College Board partnership focuses on improving career and college readiness for students by increasing access to Official SAT Practice.  The award included a monetary recognition of $15,000 that OCPS elected to distribute to students in the form of scholarships as a show of appreciation for their commitment to their education.

Khan Academy Contest Recipients

Joanna A. Alvarez* - Olympia HS

Dionisio N. Alvelo* - Cypress Creek HS

Dante A. Bondi - Timber Creek HS

Camila Calicchio-Ortiz - Cypress Creek HS

William M. Delgado - Winter Park HS

Markel Evans - Dr. Phillips HS

Daisy I. Exposito - Lake Nona HS

Tyanna Felder - Wekiva HS

Angelina Fernandez - Dr. Phillips HS

Matthew Finkbeiner* - Wekiva HS

Andres Garcia* - Dr. Phillips HS

Diego Garcia* - Dr. Phillips HS

Sally A. Golden - West Orange HS

Edgar Gonzalez* - West Orange HS

Kingsley Gooden* - Dr. Phillips HS

Marrio Green - Jones HS

Andrea E. Hernandez-Ecarr - Lake Nona HS

Miguel E. Hernandez-Herrera - Lake Nona HS

Marqus Howard - Apopka HS

Christopher P. Huang* - West Orange HS

Anthony Juba-Richardson* - Dr. Phillips HS

Sereena Muhr - Wekiva HS

Guilherme Oliveira-Alves - Dr. Phillips HS

Samuel Rodriguez - Edgewater HS

Jacob Samuel - Windermere HS

Brayan A. Sanchez-Ochoa* - Dr. Phillips HS

Arash Shahbazian - Olympia HS

Felicia Shoemate - Jones HS

Robert Soto - Boone HS

Shara Teague - Jones HS

Mackella L. Topinka* - Apopka HS

Emilie F. Trammell* - West Orange HS

Jasmine Williams* - Dr. Phillips HS

Cavail J. Young - Oak Ridge HS

Zack E. Zawacki - Olympia HS

Meghan Zengotita - Colonial HS