The Principal of the Year award recognizes outstanding principals who have succeeded in providing high-quality learning opportunities for students as well as demonstrating exemplary contributions to their schools and communities.

2022 POY Winner

With experience working as an administrator at the district-level and as a principal at the school-level, Julie Helton has demonstrated academic success with elementary and secondary students for nearly 20 years. Not only has she shown great leadership with students and parents, but with her peers as well. Dr. Helton has led a variety of trainings for principals and assistant principals, while also mentoring three principals this school year. In every school she has worked in, she has been highly regarded in her handling of difficult and high-pressure situations.

Congratulations to the 2021-22 Principal of the Year Finalists!

Martha C. Chang | Lake Nona High
Lukeshia J. Miller | Phillis Wheatley Elementary

Star Banner Web Divider

GALAXY Sponsor

Addition Financial Logo

lunar SponsorS

Lunar Sponsor Cigna Logo
  Orlando Health logo

Comet Sponsor

OUC Logo

meteor SponsorS

Ernie Morris Logo

Intrado Logo

Logo from Schenkel Shultz Architecture

Silva's Painting

Thornton Construction Company

AstEroid Sponsors

Herff Jones


Williams Company

Host sponsor

Logo of Rosen Shingle Creek


Photography Sponsor

Click here to open a new window to the Strawbridge Website