OCPS celebrates 28 National Merit semifinalists
Posted on 09/20/2019

OCPS News Release logo

District celebrates 28 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Orange County Public Schools is celebrating 28 seniors from eight OCPS high schools chosen as semifinalists for the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. The students listed below were among more than 1.6 million juniors in an estimated 22,000 high schools who took the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test last year and met program participation requirements.




Sean McCabe

Kallen Cunningham

Guilherme Bejar

James Moore

Neta Epstein

Aaryn Brown

Cypress Creek

Elle Ferguson

Julia Kendall

Sadat Kasem

Pavan Iyengar

Zachariah Wade

Samitha Kosanam

Alesha Wallen

Winter Park

Conor O'Malley

Timber Creek

Hussain Khalil

Dr. Phillips

Monet Jowers

Binh Pham

Jordan Kocarek

Grace Lee

Angelica Sanchez

Griffin Martin

Meghan Lin

Brenton Zhang

Lake Nona

Natalie Longtin

Shamika Chavda

Benjamin Martinez

Scott Gregory

Wanqi Yuan

These seniors now have an opportunity to continue in the competition for one of 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered in the spring. To advance as a finalist, the semifinalists and their high school must submit a detailed scholarship application proving academic and leadership abilities throughout high school. Finalist names will be announced beginning in the spring of 2020.