The Principal of the Year award recognizes outstanding principals who have succeeded in providing high-quality learning opportunities for students as well as demonstrating exemplary contributions to their schools and communities.

Winner banner with photo of James Leslie

James Leslie is a humble, strategic and compassionate leader, who for more than 30 years, has served the students and families of Orange County Public Schools. Under his leadership, James increases academic performance and creates a strong sense of community at the schools he serves. When asked what inspires him as a principal, he shared “the ability to affect change that will impact lives in ways that I may not see, and to provide students with the power to overcome the circumstances they may be facing.”

Congratulations to the 2019-20 Principal of the Year finalists!

Kimberly Hankerson | Riverside Elementary
Raquel Flores | Sally Ride Elementary

Star Banner Web Divider

Presenting Sponsor


Host Sponsor

Dinner Sponsor