School Board meeting highlights (July 13, 2021)
Posted on 07/13/2021
OCPS News Release Logo

The School Board of Orange County held its regularly-scheduled board meeting at 4:45 p.m. at the Ronald Blocker Educational Leadership Center. These are the highlights of the meeting:

School Board approved revisions to Policy EBBA - Disease Prevention; Face Coverings

The School Board voted (6 to 1) to make face coverings optional for the 2021-22 school year. The policy changes take effect on school campuses including buses Aug. 2 and immediately at all non-school facilities. Each student, employee, visitor, vendor, or other person may voluntarily wear a face covering at their discretion. View Policy EBBA.

Unanimous vote for one-time bonus for all Classified Employees in benefited positions

The School Board and Superintendent recognize and value the work performed by the classified employees of Orange County Public Schools and wish to demonstrate their appreciation by awarding classified employees in benefited positions with a one-time bonus in the amount of $1,000 per employee. OESPA signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) in support of the bonus. All classified employees hired in benefited positions on or before March 12, 2021, and in an active employment status on the date the bonus is paid are eligible.  Those employees who retire between the date of execution of the MOU and date of payout who otherwise are eligible to receive the bonus will be included.  Bonuses are scheduled to be paid July 28, 2021, or August 4, 2021, depending on the employee’s payroll cycle.

Changes regarding administrative personnel

Superintendent Barbara Jenkins introduced the following new administrators:

Adriene Anderson, assistant principal, Ivey Lane Elementary

Nybria Sade Avion Johnson, assistant principal, Dr. Phillips High

Earnest LaBee, assistant principal, Carver Middle

John Miller, assistant principal, Meadowbrook Middle

Stephen Carl Morsher, assistant principal, Lake Nona High

Michelle Lea Nye, assistant principal, Oak Hill Elementary

Pamela Rumph, assistant principal, McCoy Elementary

Judy Bransford, principal, Conway Elementary

Patricia Ann Cells, principal, Eagle Creek Elementary

Desiree Hitchmon-Houghton, principal, Shenandoah Elementary

*Reminder* Work sessions and rule development workshops are live-streamed on the School Board’s YouTube channel and will be accessible from web browsers on computers or mobile devices.