Admin

Registration Requirements

The following items are required to register a child to attend
Orange County Public Schools:

Find my School (by your address)

Find the school(s) assigned to your home address using our Find My School feature or by calling the Office of Student Enrollment at 407-317-3233.

You must provide your specific street address and your child's grade level, and the office will determine the correct school your child is supposed to attend.

Verification of Legal Name

Submit one form of verification of the student’s name in the order set forth below:

Official Birth Certificate

  • A duly attested transcript of the child’s birth record filed according to law with a public officer charged with the duty of recording births.

Passport

  • A passport or certificate of arrival in the U.S. showing the name of the child.
  • NOTE: Under no circumstances shall staff request a passport, visa, or any other documentation to verify the immigration status of any student.

Verification of Age

Birth Certificate or Passport*

  • To enter kindergarten, a child must be 5 years old on or before September 1.
  • To enter first grade, a child must be 6 years old on or before September 1, and have completed kindergarten.

*Other forms of age verification are permissible under Section 1003.21, Florida Statues

Verification of Immunization and Physical Exam

Submit a Florida Certificate of Immunization Form (Form DH 680).

  • Proof of immunizations on a Form 680, which can be obtained at:

    Orange County Health Department:

    832 W. Central Blvd., Orlando, FL

    These forms must be completed by a Florida physician or a Florida county health department.

  • The Florida Department of Health annually publishes the required immunizations in a state publication titled, “Immunization Guidelines: Florida Schools, Child Care Facilities and Family Day Care Homes.”
  • Students may attend school without a Florida Certificate of Immunization if they have a: 
    • Religious Exemption (Form DH 681)
    • Temporary Exemption (Form DH 680, Part B)
    • Medical Exemption (Form DH680, Part C)
  • Proof of physical examination by a U.S. doctor within a year of enrollment (first day of entry at school).

Verification of Academic History

  • Submit the most recent report card and/or transcript or withdrawal form needed for appropriate grade level placement; or,
  • Complete a Release of Information Form and your school will request the appropriate educational records from all previous educational programs.

Verification of Special Education information (if applicable)

  • Current IEP or
  • Current 504 plan

Verification of your Residence in Orange County

Submit current proofs of residence from the table below, based upon your type of residence

If you OWN or RENT your residence, provide your zoned school:

  • One document from both Columns A and B

If you do not have a lease or own your own home (i.e., you SHARE the housing of another person who owns/rents the home), submit your documents to the Office of Student Enrollment (as a minimum):

  • The owner/renter of the residence must submit one document from Column A and Florida drivers license/ID; and,
  • The registering parent must submit two documents from Column B, one of these must be the Florida Drivers License/ID. 

All documents must be current, valid, and include the residential address used for enrollment.

Verification of Residence Documents
COLUMN A COLUMN B
  • Property tax bill
  • Homestead exemption card
  • Deed
  • Home purchase contract
  • Notarized lease agreement
  • Florida identification card or Florida drivers license (REQUIRED)
  • Current Utility bill (i.e., electric, water, waste)
  • Current Telephone or cellular phone bill
  • Current Cable/Satellite Bill
  • Current Automobile registration
  • Automobile or Health insurance 
  • Current Credit card statement
  • Current Bank account statement
  • Current PayStub
  • Voter's Registration
  • Private Mail (within last month)
  • Official Mail (within last month)
  • U.S. Postal Service confirmation of address change request
  • Last three months of rent receipts

NOTE: If you answer “yes” to certain residency questions on the Student Residency Questionnaire, you may qualify for the HOMELESS Program under the McKinney-Vento Act (MVP).

  • The school will provide a referral to the district’s MVP department and, if qualified, the student will be eligible for immediate services.
  • Students registered under the McKinney-Vento Act must re-certify each school year.
  • All documents must be current, valid, and include the residential address used for enrollment.


    Verification of Guardianship

    • Birth certificate

    If applicable, you must provide one of the following:

    • Court Custody Documentation (this includes divorce decrees)
    • OCPS Educational Guardianship (given only when the parent/guardian lives outside of Orange County or adjacent counties of Brevard, Osceola, Polk, Lake, Seminole, and Volusia) available at the Office of Student Enrollment


    Download a registration packet.

    • Schools have the right to verify any information provided by the student and/or the student’s parent(s).
    • A student whose parent(s) submit fraudulent information in an attempt to attend a school to which the student is not assigned shall be immediately withdrawn by the school and must be registered and enrolled in the appropriate zoned school.
    • Whoever knowingly makes a false statement in writing with intent to mislead a public servant in the performance of his or her official duty, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable by law (F.S. 837.06) or guilty of perjury by false written declaration, a felony of the third degree (F.S. 92.525).